Privacy Concerns Flare Over Updated Chrome Browser's 'Forced Login'

Share

Privacy Concerns Flare Over Updated Chrome Browser's 'Forced Login'

Quietly included in the browser's most recent update, Chrome's latest affront to user privacy is a new policy that forces users to sign the browser into their account the next time the login to a Google service such as Gmail.

If you're a regular user of Google's services, and are logged into Chrome anyway, then this change probably won't worry you too much. Now it states the data is saved only when you sign into the browser and "sync" it with your Google account.

Which now brings us back to Green, who says, sure - if you're already signed into Chrome and a friend shares your computer, you definitely don't want to accidentally have your friend's Google cookies get uploaded into your account.

A 'forced login?' Some people are upset by the Chrome 69 change, calling it a "forced login".

Chrome browser's privacy policy notes that if you are is not signed in, all the information is locally stored on your system. However, if you don't like the idea of Google's increasing data collection about your online habits, then it may be time to think about switching to a more secure web browser. He disclosed that he had contacted Chrome managers and they had told him that just being logged into Chrome didn't mean a user's browsing information would be sent to Google.

Lawrence addressed the misconception that Chrome sign-in also meant Google Sync being turned on and praised the changes in terms of security on shared devices. The company doesn't appear to be changing its mind, though, so anyone concerned about being signed in to Chrome will either have to be more vigilant or switch to a different browser.

But on the minus side for people concerned about privacy, Google can add that data to the vast amount that it already has about you through other linked accounts, such as Maps and YouTube.

The change, which was little noticed until a security researcher blogged about it on Sunday night, has left the internet company fighting a familiar criticism: that its appetite for data to fuel its online ad business trumps its concerns about its users.

To some of us, these complaints could well maybe maybe also seem exiguous-fry or obvious. There is an extra step required to turn on Chrome Sync. Chrome 69 was a major release for Google, coming with many new features, including a new user interface. There is a reason Google works so hard to encourage logins on Android and Chrome.

The problem, if there is one, certainly comes from Google's lack of transparency about the change.

The revamp, which syncs the search history of millions of users to their personal Gmail account, could prompt users to favour Google's own email provider over other email providers, he claimed. One of the Google Chrome engineers clarified on Twitter that Google does not auto start the process without the users click.

But some also suggested that Google's move might have been planned well in advance.

Share

Advertisement

© 2015 Leader Call. All Rights reserved.