According to a new official Facebook blog post, the company is now notifying over 800,000 users that unwanted people may have seen posts on Facebook and Facebook Messenger, even if you'd proactively blocked those people from seeing your posts, between May 29 and June 5. Blocked users are also unable to send a friend request to the person who blocked them, while blocked friends are unfriended automatically. They would also have been able to send messages to the user, something a blocked person usually cannot do. Which is nevertheless cold comfort to the company's vast audience that sees in this yet another bug that could chip away at trust in the company, following a similar one a few weeks ago.
Mind you, they couldn't see private posts, or posts you'd only shared with your friends. "We know that the ability to block someone is important - and we'd like to apologize and explain what happened".
Facebook has admitted a glitch in its network meant people who had been blocked were temporarily unblocked.
People affected by the bug will get notifications encouraging them to check their blocked lists. Egan stated that the bug did not reinstate friend connections that had been severed and that those who should be blocked have been blocked once again. According to an announcement on Facebook's news blog, the company is notifying 800,000 Facebook and Messenger users that people they blocked may have been unblocked between May 29 and June 5. A block allows users to keep unwanted eyes away from their profiles and posts, as well as prevent any unsought conversations popping up Messenger, but the bug borked that and arguably represents a breach of privacy for hundreds of thousands of Facebook users.