Phil Mickelson hits moving ball with putter at US Open

Share

The six-time runner-up saw his putt run wide of the hole and it was heading off the green once again, but he suddenly broke out into a trot and caught up with his ball, knocking back towards the hole while it was still on the move.

"It's something you might see at your home course with your mates or something", Johnston said.

Shinnecock Hills has not been kind to golfers this week at the 2018 U.S. Open, but Phil Mickelson suffered some self-inflicted damage Saturday. After racing his bogey putt past the hole, he bizarrely and inexplicably jogged down after his ball before putting it back up the hill while it was still rolling. "I've had it with the USGA and the way they run their tournaments".

It was reminiscent of John Daly hitting a moving ball at Pinehurst No. 2 in the 1999 US Open. His second shot didn't even go in. As a result, he incurred a two-stroke penalty for a breach of Rule 14-5. But it's nothing disrespectful to me or to the U.S. Open or anything.

Another player who let things get to him was Kirk Triplett in 1998 at Olympic Club.

It was a childish display from a five-time major victor celebrating his 48th birthday.

The start of that sequence was for bogey on the par-four 13th. After three more pars following the meltdown, he bogeyed 17, then parred 18. In that situation, I was just going back and forth. One problem: he didn't wait for the ball to stop moving. The two players shared a laugh after the freakish turn of events and Johnston later said he's never seen anything like it. There was actually some chatter about Mickelson being disqualified based on Rule 33-7 or Rule 1-2; however, the USGA made a decision to penalize him under Rule 14-5 and not Rule 1-2 because Mickelson did not deflect or stop the ball.

Match play - Loss of hole; Stroke play - Two strokes.

Share

Advertisement

© 2015 Leader Call. All Rights reserved.