IPL Results 2018: Scores, Schedule After Hyderabad vs. Chennai Qualifier 1


IPL Results 2018: Scores, Schedule After Hyderabad vs. Chennai Qualifier 1

Sunrisers could still reach the final when they play the victor of Wednesday's eliminator between Kolkata Knight Riders and Rajasthan Royals on Friday.

Mumbai- As Chennai Super Kings stormed into the Indian Premier League (IPL) final for the seventh time on Tuesday after a nail-biting two-wicket win over Sunrisers Hyderabad, skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni credited the dressing room atmosphere for his team's success over the years.

It is the seventh time Chennai have made the IPL final.

Du Plessis' 67* off 42 balls enabled CSK to chase down a tricky target of 140 in 19.1 overs after being down at 92 for 7.

An innings of 43 not out by number seven Carlos Brathwaite helped Sunrisers post their total of 139-7 while New Zealand captain Kane Williamson made 24.

Du Plessis hit five fours and four sixes to propel Chennai, who returned this season after a two-year corruption ban along with Rajasthan Royals, into the final. While Super Kings stopped the aspirations of Kings XI Punjab by overcoming a hard start last night in their adopted home base of Pune, Sunrisers have been on a three-game losing run, having sealed their play-off spot with a victory on May 10 against Delhi Daredevils.

The opener scored the winning run with his fourth six, which must have pleased skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni who had sealed India's victory in the 2011 World Cup final against Sri Lanka at the same venue in a similar fashion. Chennai Super Kings need 23 runs in 12 balls.

Kumar had Shane Watson dismissed for zero with an impeccable away swinger in the first over and Kaul knocked back the stumps of in form Suresh Raina (22) and Ambati Rayudu (0).

MS Dhoni failed to read a googly from Rashid Khan while Dwayne Bravo was done in by extra bounce edging one to Shikhar Dhawan at slips.

Earlier, Hyderabad top order stuttered against seamers in the batting powerplay as Shikhar Dhawan dragged Chahar back onto his stumps off the first ball.

Bravo then took an exceptional caught-and-bowled chance, whilst tumbling forward during his follow through to get rid of the unsafe Yusuf Pathan and leave Kane Williamson's side in danger of failing to bat out their overs. Rayudu was bowled for a golden duck the very next ball. Captain Kane Williamson (24) and Yusuf Pathan (24) were the other notable contributors with the bat.



© 2015 Leader Call. All Rights reserved.