CWG 2018: Record-breaking Aussies make waves in pool


CWG 2018: Record-breaking Aussies make waves in pool

The host nation led the race from start to finish, eventually clocking in with a time of 7:48.04 - a new Games record, usurping their own record from four years ago in Glasgow by nearly two seconds.

Scottish siblings Katie and John Archibald celebrated gold and silver Friday as hosts Australia reached a landmark 100 Commonwealth Games titles in track cycling.

In the opening game on Thursday, Uganda fail to resist a more experienced England side.

England also claimed two gold medals on the opening night with Aimee Wilmott denying Hannah Miley's bid for a Scottish record three consecutive 400m individual medley gold medals and James Wilby dethroning Scottish defending champion Ross Murdoch in the 200m breaststroke.

"I think that is what we have done".

Under a mostly clear night sky at the open-air stadium, Ruck held off a fast-charging Ariarne Titmus of Australia in the 200-meter freestyle.

"I felt like the adrenalin was still going", Jack said.

Katie's brother John, 27, is a former swimmer who got into track and road cycling after discovering he had a taste for it while commuting to work on his bike. "Ten thousand people cheering for you is pretty unreal".

Guy, who won the bronze medal in the 400m freestyle final on Thursday, is expected to be fit for the rest of his events.

"I've raced against Hannah in every meet and I've been second every time".

Miley wasn't upset with the silver. Australian Matt Willis took the bronze.

The Ugandan national women's netball team, who are appearing at the Games for the first time, registered their first ever win after beating Malawi 54-52 in the pool stages.

Proud, who is also the reigning Commonwealth champion in the 50 butterfly and 50 freestyle, won his preliminary heat by almost a body length, but that was annulled after a referee disqualified the Englishman for movement on the starting blocks.

His teammate Grant Irvine finished fourth in Saturday night's final, won by South African Chad le Clos.



© 2015 Leader Call. All Rights reserved.