India win tri-series after Karthik blitz in tense final against Bangladesh


India win tri-series after Karthik blitz in tense final against Bangladesh

Standing outside the crease to Bangladesh's fastest bowler - Rubel Hossain - he tonked a six straight down the ground, and followed it up with a boundary and another six off the next two to bring the equation down quickly.

Yuzvendra Chahal then dealt the biggest blow, sending Tamim Iqbal (15) and Soumya Sarkar to the pavillion in the space of three balls.

Dinesh Karthik scored 29 runs off just 8 deliveries and took Twitterati by surprise.

India: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan (vice-captain), Lokesh Rahul, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Vijay Shankar, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohammad Siraj and Rishabh Pant. Such was the carnage by Rohit, who hit two sixes of the Mehidy, that the offspinner never returned to bowl. The pair added 35 runs for the fourth wicket.

Mustafizur Rahman then bowled a masterly 18th over, when his first five balls at Vijay Shankar yielded only one run and Manish Pandey (28) perished off the sixth trying to accelerate the contest. Chahal broke the partnership in the 11th over by dismissing the in-form Rahim (9). Their aggression after winning their last league match against Sri Lanka has not gone down well with the cricket fans around the world with most rooting for Indian side in the final. In a tense encounter, in which they beat Sri Lanka last night, with Mahmudullah Riyadh rising to the occasion with a last ball six, will give the "Tigers" enormous confidence.

India needed five runs to win in the last two deliveries but V Shankar threw his wicket away off Sarkar's bowling when his strike to long on was superbly caught by Mahedi Hasan.

India, who just lost their opener against hosts Sri Lanka in the tri-series, kept their T20 record clean against the Tigers in eight meetings.

Skipper Shakib Al Hasan also got run out again due to some brilliant work by Vijay Shankar.

However, they are yet to beat India in a T20I, and will hope to end their winless jinx.

Rohit Sharma also is in excellent form. The left-armer not only gave just one run but picked a wicket as well.

Where to watch the matches live? The match will kick off at 7 PM.

Coming in to bat when India was in a precarious situation at 133/5 after a wicket-maiden 18 over by Mustafizzur Rahman, Dinesh Karthik immediately turned the match around by smashing 22 runs off Rubel Hossain's 19 over.



© 2015 Leader Call. All Rights reserved.