TDP wont break alliance with BJP


TDP wont break alliance with BJP

TDP president and Andhra chief minister N Chandrababu Naidu had on Friday held a lengthy meeting with senior party leaders to seek their views on the future course of action.

Chowdary said some key issues had already been taken up with the Centre and expressed hope that "everything will definitely be resolved in the next two-three days".

"Because of coalition dharma, we are keeping quiet", said Naidu. "We will also raise the matter in Parliament, if needed", Andhra Minister YS Chowdary said after the meeting.

"If the Centre does not concede to our demands, then we will undertake protest both inside and outside Parliament", he added.

TDP workers laid siege to BJP MLC Somu Veeraju's office cum residence at Rajamahendravaram in Rajahmundry on Monday after Veerraju's scathing attack on Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu and other leaders. He said the TDP chief Chandrababu Naidu also aired such an opinion and if this is accepted in the meeting today than all MPs of TDP woould resign.

The meeting felt that the Centre ignored the demands for release of funds under special assistance measure announced past year in lieu of special category status, allocation for Polavaram project and financial assistance for development of state capital Amaravati.

He also stressed that the Polavaram irrigation project, which had been accorded national project status, will be funded by the Centre and not the Union Budget. "People (of Andhra Pradesh) are looking forward with anticipation". They (the Centre) have done something, but much more needs to be done. "Whatever is good for state, we'll do it", Srinivas had said. We are discussing specific points. "We have already taken up the issues with the Union finance minister, railway minister (on setting up a railway zone in Visakhapatnam)". The TDP, however, agreed to continue its alliance with the BJP after Home Minister Rajnath Singh telephoned Naidu and asked him not to make a hasty decision.

Naidu's party is third only to the BJP and Shiv Sena in the NDA in terms of seats won in parliament.



© 2015 Leader Call. All Rights reserved.