South Africa vs India 5th ODI: Pre-match analysis


South Africa vs India 5th ODI: Pre-match analysis

His effort in Port Elizabeth on Tuesday gave India a fighting chance of clinching their first ODI series in South Africa.

Nontheless, India will be confident after the ODI series win.

Rohit, however, got to his first ever century in South Africa.

Once again, South Africa struggled to get through India's top order after getting an early wicket.

Kohli and Rohit ensured India had yet another fruitful second-wicket association, putting on 105 in 109 balls, though Kohli never kicked into dominant gear, as only two fours in his 54-ball 36 showed. With his 15th century as the opener, Rohit has surpassed the record of Virender Sehwag who had hit 14 tons as an opener. Heinrich Klaasen (39) provided brief support but they soon lost momentum when Amla was run out brilliantly by Pandya.

For India, Kuldeep Yadav took 4 wickets, while Hardik Pandya and Yuzvendra Chahal took 2 wickets each.

India didn't get the pace required to set up a large total as wickets fell after another and the now World No 1 side scoring just 55 runs in the last 10 overs.

Indian captain and batting kingpin, Virat Kohli strode to the wicket with his side on 47/1 in the 8th over. The former cricketer looked very disturbed with the form of opener Rohit Sharma as well. His wicket was taken by Ngidi but before that, he had added 115 runs on the scoreboard.

Cape Town - A century from Rohit Sharma saw India to a respectable 274/7 after their allotted 50 overs in the 5th ODI at St George's Park in Port Elizabeth.

Team South Africa led a resurgent fightback against the Indian team - who were gung-ho after a hat-trick of victories - in the fourth One Day International (ODI) at Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg.

On the tour so far, Rohit had tallied 118 runs in eight innings across two Tests and four ODIs.On Tuesday, he nearly doubled that at St. George's Park.

After inviting India to bat, Markram expressed, "Pretty clear on what we want to do".

"I knew I don't have to change a lot and the runs will come". They've got their game plans nailed so credit to how they've played.

South Africa Women: Dane van Niekerk (C), Marizanne Kapp, Trisha Chetty, Shabnim Ismail, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Sune Luus, Odine Kirsten, Mignon du Preez, Lizelle Lee, Chloe Tryon, Nadine de Klerk, Raisibe Ntozakhe, Moseline Daniels. The match will start at 4:30 pm IST and the toss will take place 30 minutes before that. Sony Ten 1 and Sony Ten 1 HD will provide the coverage live in English commentary.

It was Jasprit Bumrah who dismissed the skipper to give India the first break through.



© 2015 Leader Call. All Rights reserved.