Samsung Officially Unveils The "Galaxy S9" On February 25

Share

Samsung Officially Unveils The

Samsung has sent out invites to MWC after months of rumors and leaks about the Galaxy S9.

Samsung is officially announcing the long-awaited Galaxy S9 smartphone on February 25th, at a special event at Mobile World Congress in Barcelona. "Reimagined" and a date. The general advice for any new smartphone purchase is to max out at least the memory on offer, even if you don't go for the biggest storage available: that maximizes longevity in future, as OS updates and apps get more and more demanding of hardware.

Following the company's tradition of launching two Galaxy S series flagships together, Samsung Galaxy S9 is expected to launch alongside a slightly larger model - Galaxy S9 plus.

However, it remains unclear whether any or all of these will find itself on the S9.

According to Blass, the new phones - codenamed Star and Star 2 - will be powered by Qualcomm's Snapdragon 845 SoC in the USA and China and Samsung's own Exynos 9810 chip in other markets.

To recollect, previous reports claimed that the Galaxy S9 will support variable apertures for the same lens. But the invitation also has the words "The Camera". The S9 will have a 5.8-inch screen, and the Plus will get a 6.2-inch one.

As for the Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus, it is rumored to pack with a primary 12-megapixel (MP) rear shooter with f/1.5 aperture, which can capture crystal-clear images and 4K resolution videos at 120 frames per second. Unfortunately, the two's backplates are not illustrated today, although Blass seems to know exactly how those will look as well. We'd put our money on Samsung having a more advanced form of face-powered unlock and authentication than they've had thus far.

In case you're wondering what times 4am AEDT is in other parts of the world, it is midday on Sunday, 25 February in NY, 9am in San Francisco, 5pm in London and 6pm in Barcelona. It's still a phone that is almost all-screen with round corners, a battery of sensors at the top for Iris scanning, and a Bixby button for launching Samsung's awful voice assistant. The phone will support all of the US LTE bands, including T-Mobile's new band 71 for rural coverage. Both phones will have a Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 processor under the hood in the USA and China, while most of the rest of the world will get a Samsung Exynos 9810.

Share

Advertisement

© 2015 Leader Call. All Rights reserved.