Ekiti APC hails Buhari over board appointments


Ekiti APC hails Buhari over board appointments

Late Senator Francis Okpozo, was on Friday named among the 1,467 chairmen and members of the Federal Government Boards approved by President Muhammadu Buhari. Mr. Utov, the proprietor of Fidei Polytechnic, Gboko, died on March 17.

He explained that the list was compiled in 2015 by the ruling party but there was the need to clear some issues raised by some governors regarding the list.

Meanwhile, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), reacting to the dead appointees brouhaha, has said the All Progressives Congress (APC) federal government is confused.

The presidential spokesman said the president only made a decision to revisit the matter recently and therefore directed the new SGF to release the list.

Subsequently, he revealed, the names were submitted to the then SGF, Babachir Lawal.

Shehu however assured Nigerians that nominees who were confirmed dead would be replaced.

"The president's trips for medical attention slowed down completion of the process", he said.

He added: "However, complaint arose from some governors who felt they were not carried along in the process".

The statement read in part, "Withdrawing the appointments and directing and allowing the civil service systems to follow due process to reappoint chairpersons and members to the boards of these agencies and parastatals would bring the government's practices and operations into conformity with Nigeria's worldwide anticorruption obligations, particularly the UN Convention against Corruption".

APC thanked Nigerians for supporting President Buhari's administration and asked them to be hopeful of brighter days ahead.

The organisations whose boards were constituted were National Boundary Commission (NBC), National Institute for Policy and Strategy Studies (NIPSS), Border Communities Development Agency (BCDA), National Planning Commission (NPC), National Commission for Refugees, Federal Road Safety Commission (FRSC), Nigerian Christian Pilgrims Commission (NCPC), National Lottery Trust Fund (NLTF), National Lottery Regulatory Commission (NLRC), National Atomic Energy Commission (NAEC) and National Agency for Science and Engineering Infrastructure (NASENI). "I can tell you that numerous initial names were also the same names forwarded by the governors except in few cases".



© 2015 Leader Call. All Rights reserved.