Deleted a WhatsApp Message You Sent? Recipients Can Still Read It

Share

Deleted a WhatsApp Message You Sent? Recipients Can Still Read It

After downloading the app, users will be able to access the deleted messages from the Android Notification log.

Spanish website androidjefe reported yesterday that the deleted messages can still be accessed via an application called "Notification History". "The Notification History application is a shortcut to that record". Download Notification History app. Give all the permissions it requires. It is also to be noted that once you restart your device, the notification log will be cleared.

One of the biggest use cases of the Delete for Everyone feature has been when a user send a message to the wrong chat, or if the message sent contains a mistake. Tap on that icon and once in the Notification Logs, find WhatsApp and tap on it and you will be able to see the messages you received, deleted or not.

After all, if someone has already seen a message you accidentally sent before you manage to delete it, the worst of the damage has already been done. Instead of seeing the post, they'd see a message that says: "This message was deleted", but they couldn't see the content. However, now it seems that receiver can read all the deleted messages.

That character limit does at least place a certain limitation on what a person can recover from a deleted message, and it is worth noting that it only preserves text and not multimedia messages. While a "deleted message" gets actually removed from WhatsApp chat thread, the message (in the form of a notification) is still available on the Notification History.

And the logs, being keepers of all notifications, would have a record of it for sure!

Look for the same android.text line in the logs and voilà!

That's how simple it is to view those deleted messages. In order words, if your friend had sent you a message which consists of more than 100 characters - well, you may not able to read the whole message and may get access only to the first chunck of it. So don't worry about any mistakenly sent NSFW pics that you may have deleted! According to Android Jefe, only when the system detects these events does it save a message in the registry.

This is not the first time that reports of retrieving deleted messages have surfaced.

Notification History app works on nearly all Android smartphones running on Kitkat or higher, and the Advanced History Log feature allows the users to get full control over their notifications.

A spokesperson for WhatsApp told Tech Republic that the message deletion option doesn't delete notifications.

Share

Advertisement

© 2015 Leader Call. All Rights reserved.