Several former Packers nominated for Pro Football Hall of Fame


Several former Packers nominated for Pro Football Hall of Fame

Star linebackers Ray Lewis and Brian Urlacher are among the biggest names on the list. He would return to start all 16 games the following season. The 32-year-old retired in 2012 (meaning he's now eligible) after short stints in Philadelphia and St. Louis after racking up 2,641 yards and 12 touchdowns over five National Football League seasons.

LeRoy Butler, Sterling Sharpe, Donald Driver and former head coach Mike Holmgren are all among the 108 players and coaches who have been nominated for induction into the Hall.

In Hinton's final three seasons in Indianapolis, he enjoyed blocking for future Hall of Fame running back Eric Dickerson, who joined the Colts in October 1987 in a three-team trade that also included the Los Angeles Rams and the Buffalo Bills.

The roster of nominees consists of 53 offensive players, 38 defensive players, 5 special teams players and 12 coaches.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame released its initial list of 108 nominees for the 2018 class on Monday night, and on it were receiving greats like Randy Moss, Terrell Owens, Hines Ward, and Steve Smith. The list will be narrowed to 25 former players in November, before 15 finalists are voted on prior to this year's Super Bowl.

A six-time Pro Bowler, two times First Team All-Pro and one-time Second Team All-Pro Selection, Saturday played in 211 games over his National Football League career, starting 202.

According to the Hall of Fame, "a$3 ny fan may nominate any qualified person who has been connected with pro football in any capacity simply by writing to the Pro Football Hall of Fame".

That's why it's so hard to get into the PFHOF and why the argument of who didn't get into the Hall can be so hard.

That was certainly the case for Terrell Owens, who is one of 10 finalists returning from the 2017 selection process. Former Washington Redskins general manager Bobby Beathard is the contributor nominee.

The announcement of next year's inductees takes place during Super Bowl weekend, which will be the first weekend in February 2018. He played in four straight Super Bowls with the Bills and was a Pro Bowl selection in each of those seasons.

Of the 11 players ahead of James on the rushing charts, 10 have bronze busts in Canton, Ohio.



© 2015 Leader Call. All Rights reserved.