Third-place Congress takes solace in vote-share bump


Third-place Congress takes solace in vote-share bump

Rejecting the allegations, Goa BJP General Secretary Sadanand Tanawade told PTI that the Congress' reaction shows their frustration on losing both the seats. The Delhi Congress party however said that they were quite satisfied with the election as it saw an increase in its vote since the last election. The competition was filled with ups and downs in Bawana constituency of Delhi with AAP and Congress switching the top place frequently. The AAP's candidate is Ram Chandra, while the Congress has placed its bet on three-time MLA from Bawana, Surendra Kumar. "The elections are a moral defeat for BJP as their candidates indulged in corrupt practise as official position was used by the two candidates to offer jobs to the voters, although BJP might have obtained electoral victory", alleged Goa Pradesh Congress Committee President Shantaram Naik.

Ved Prakash had won from Bawana in the 2015 Assembly elections in the city on an AAP ticket.

Bawana is one of the largest constituencies in the Capital, with 2.94 lakh voters.

In Valpoi - the other seat that went for by-election - the former Congress chief minister Pratapsingh Rane's son Vishvajit, who defected to the BJP, painted the once Congress "bastion" saffron.

By-polls for the three seats were held on 23rd August.

Goa chief minister Manohar Parrikar and BJP leader Vishwajit Rane addresses a press conference after winning Panaji and Valpoi bypolls, respectively, in Panaji on Monday.

He had resigned from Assembly membership and joined the BJP in March this year, necessitating the bypoll.

TDP's Bhuma Brahmananda Reddy defeated his nearest rival Silpa Mohan Reddy of the Yuvajana Shramika Rythu Congress Party by over 27,000 votes. The results of the by-elections were declared today and have served as a major boost for the party. The BJP won both the seats comfortably and a reason to claim that Goa is still under the Modi-spell.

The ruling party was keen to register its first victory in a bypoll as it lost the previous by election in Rajouri Garden to the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). The Congress was a distant third with just 1,382 votes, still reeling from public anger over bifurcation of the state.

Defeating the chief minister in a constituency that has remained saffron - though not always with significant vote margins - for nearly a quarter century was always going to be a tough prospect for the Congress.



© 2015 Leader Call. All Rights reserved.